Compiled by Damaghosa dasa (Seattle, USA)


Lecture – Vrindavana, December 9, 1975

Now, just like people protest because we are giving the position of a brahmana to the mlecchas, yavana. Yavanah khasadayah. Khasadayah means Mongolians, the Chinese, Japanese and the Philippines. So they are khasadaya. The Manipuris, Assamese, they are considered as khasadaya. So there is no distinction. Chaitanya Mahaprabhu has given open declaration: krsna-bhajanete nahi jati kuladi vicara. Anyone who is desirous of becoming Krishna conscious, it is open. Anyone can come. By proper training by the expert spiritual master everyone can be raised to the brahminical platform and then Vaisnava platform. Sudhyanti. So how sudhyanti? The general process is that unless one is (sic:) not born in brahmana family, he is not suddha; he is impure by birth. That is fact. But the devotee can change. This is new birth, undoubtedly. Just like these, our European, American students. They are new birth. They have given up their old birth practices. So birth is changed. Punar janma. So that is possible only by Krishna consciousness. If one has to change his body without changing body… The body is changed,[referring to caste brahmanas saying one has to  change body in next birth] but we see that the same body…, but it is not the same body. It is cin-maya. The same example, that the iron rod put into the fire, it becomes red hot, so it is no longer iron; it is fire. Similarly, if we constantly keep ourself in touch with Krishna consciousness, then the body is no longer material; it is spiritual.

Lecture – Vrindavana, December 9, 1975

This life, we are thinking that "I am eighty years old or ninety years old." But it is not eighty years, ninety… It is mrtyu. You are dying every moment. It is the life of mrtyu. Therefore one has to save. Na mocayed yah samupeta-mrtyum. A child is grown up, five years old. Suppose he'll live hundred years. So that means he has already died five years. Therefore it is mrtyu. Or we have grown eighty years old. That means… Suppose I live hundred years. Still, I have already died eighty years. Therefore it is mrtyu. The whole life is mrtyu. Every moment you are dying, dying, dying, dying, from the very birth. Suppose a child is born one hour before. So one hour passed means he has died one hour out of hundred years, the beginning of death. This is called mrtyum. So we are thinking, "We are growing. We are living." This is all mugdha, bewildered. Where you are growing, you are living? You are dying every moment.

So dying, death is going on. It is called mrtyu-loka. So long you are in the material world, you are simply dying. That's all. At the end, when the balance of life, it becomes finished, we take, at that time, it is mrtyu. But no, from the very birth there is mrtyu, always, dying, dying, dying, dying. So mugdha. We are thinking, "We are living and growing, young. We are getting strength." But he does not know that he is dying. Therefore it is explained, mugdhasya: "illusioned." He is taking death as life, mugdhasya. So one should not be so bewildered, mugdhasya, and waste time by playing. Human life is not meant for… Similarly, jaraya grasta-dehasya. Akalpasya. This is also very important. Generally the old man does not know what is going to happen. He is in the hands of the nature. Ask anybody, any big, big man, old man, "What you are going to do?" I met some very important old man in London, one… He was Lord…

Hamsaduta: Brockway. Lord Brockway?

Prabhupada: Brockway, I think. I asked him, "What you will do? What is the end of your life?" "No, I shall die peacefully." That's all. He does not know that what is going to happen. Because the Christians, they do not believe in the next life; they think this life is finished, everything is finished. But that is not the fact. Because they cannot find out the soul. But that requires expert knowledge. Just like gold mine, apparently it appears that it is a stone. But one who is expert, soil expert, he can understand, "Here is gold." Just like when I was in South Africa, even in the city Johannesburg there are so many gold mines within the city, gold mines. So ordinary man, how it will… How he'll know that there is gold in the soil? He must be expert. To find out the soul within this body, it is not the business of rascals and fools. He must be very expert, exactly like the soil expert. And then, by analysis… This is called neti neti, na iti. It is very easy. If you think, study your body, take this finger, so you'll say, "My finger." Nobody will say, "I finger." Just like we sometimes examine little child, "What is this?" "Finger." "So a finger, which finger?" "My finger." "Head?" "My head." "Leg?" "My leg." Everything, "my, my." And where is "I"? This is intelligence. Everything, he is studying, "my," and who is "I"? This very question will establish the fact, dehino 'smin yatha dehe, that "I" is within this body. Therefore I am speaking, "my."

So if one is expert in understanding, in analyzing this body, neti neti – "This is blood. This is skin. This is this. This is this. This is urine. This is stool" – then whole body we analyze. Then where is that "I"? We cannot see. But why you cannot see? As soon as the "I" is off, then whose stool, whose skin, whose bone? So in this way, if we analyze, then we can understand that asmin dehe, within this body, the "I" is there.

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 1)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 2)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 3)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 4)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 5)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 6)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 7)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 8)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 9)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 10)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 11)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 12)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 13)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 14)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 15)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 16)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 17)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 18)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 19)