Compiled by Damaghosa dasa (Seattle, USA)


Lecture – Vrindavana, December 10, 1975

The intelligence is polluted in three ways: jagriti, svapna, and susupti. Jagriti means just like we are now awakened; we are not sleeping. This is one stage. And another stage, at night when you go to sleep, and you sleep with dream, that is another stage. And another stage is susupti, so deeply, just like when a man is intoxicated or chloroform during surgical operation, he does not understand that "Surgical instruments are being applied on my body." He remains silent. This is another stage. So these three stages are there for polluting our intelligence.

indriyani parany ahur
indriyebhyah param manah
manasas tu para buddhir
budhdhes tu ya para sah

The soul is beyond all these actions and reactions. But because this living entity's soul is covered by so many gross and subtle elements, he is unnecessarily suffering, although the suffering is temporary. All these sufferings are temporary. Nothing endures. But the suffering is there. Therefore it has been advised by Rsabhadeva, na sadhu manye yata atmanah ayam asan api klesada asa dehah. This whole world, people are suffering on account of these different circumstantial position, the three gunas and the mind being polluted by these three stages, jagriti, svapna, susupti, and so many things – they are described, twenty-four elements. On account of this packing of the soul, as it is stated in the Bhagavad-gita, asmin dehe, dehi… Dehi asmin yatha dehe: the real spirit soul is packed up within the body in so many coverings. So our so-called pleasure and pains in this material world, they're artificial. They are not factual, on account of being packed in so many material things. Therefore it is called moha, illusion. It is not fact.

So if one is serious about spiritual advancement, then he should not… First of all he must know "What is my position? How I am packed up with all these twenty-four elements?" Of course, due to our habit we are sometimes subjected to these pains and pleasure. Still, Krishna says, "You do not become disturbed by these so-called artificial pains and pleasures. Don't be disturbed." Sitosna-sukha-duhkha-dah. Agamapayino 'nityas tams titiksasva bharata. Matra-sparsas tu kaunteya, sitosna-sukha-duhkha-dah. Just like we are covering because it is cold, but actually as spirit soul, I am not affected. Asangayam purusa. In the Vedas it is said that the soul is unaffected with this material condition. I have several times given this example, that a person has got a good car, and it is somehow or another broken, and he becomes upset, because his car although he knows that "I am not this car," but his thoughts being absorbed by the attraction of the car, when the car is broken somehow or other he becomes almost unconscious. So this is due to our attachment. So spiritual life means how to get out of this attachment. This is spiritual life. We are "No, what is the wrong if we are attached?" The wrong is that so long we remain attached to these temporary illusory things, you'll not be able to get out of it. That is the whole program. Therefore Krishna advises, matra-sparsas tu kaunteya. These pains and pleasure is due to this skin; it is not real. But because you are attached to the skin and bone, therefore you feel sometimes pain and pleasure. But that will not endure. Better tolerate it. Tolerate. That is spiritual, tapasya. That is called tapasya. When one can learn how to tolerate these temporary so-called pains and pleasure, then he is advanced.

So if one is simply attached to these pains and pleasures of material skin and bone, then how he can be free from the material condition of life? Therefore Prahlada Maharaja is describing. Prahlada Maharaja's proposal is that spiritual life should begin from very childhood, kaumaram acaret prajno dharman bhagavatan. Otherwise that attachment will continue, and you'll never be able to give up this attachment, and the spiritual…, material condition of life, the accepting one body, bhutva bhutva praliyate, accepting one body and accepting another body, this will continue. But the real business of human life is to end this materialistic way of life, that die and again take another…, janma-mrtyu-jara-vyadhi, to be implicated in these four things. Then our suffering will never end. This is spiritual life. Spiritual life means to end the sufferings of material existence.

So in the human form of life the children should be trained up to spiritual life. That is the duty of the father and mother. Grhesu saktas. If one remains attached to family life, then grhesu saktasya pramattas. Pramattas means to remain attached to this family life means madness. It is very difficult to understand this madness, especially in this age, Kali-yuga, because we have very little knowledge. Mandah sumanda-matayo, manda-bhagya upadrutah.

Lecture – New Vrindaban, June 24, 1976

He can say something new? No. He said to Arjuna, puratanam yogam proktavan, that "I am speaking to you same old philosophy, puratanam yogam, which I spoke to the sun-god." We must stick to this, that a spiritual understanding is never changed. Now the modern days, we have to adjust things. No. That is not spiritual. There is no question of modern and old. Nitya, that is nitya, eternal. We should always remember that. Millions and millions of years ago, what was spoken by Krishna to the sun-god, the same thing was spoken to Arjuna. He said that "I am speaking to you the same old, puratanam yogam, but because the parampara system is now broken, so I am making again the parampara system through you, beginning from you.

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 1)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 2)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 3)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 4)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 5)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 6)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 7)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 8)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 9)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 10)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 11)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 12)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 13)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 14)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 15)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 16)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 17)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 18)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 19)

Srimad-Bhagavatam classes – Volume #10 (Part 20)